Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

My Friend II

8 Comments

.

Twelve hours here and
twelve hours there;
Twelve hours here and
twelve hours – where?
I’ll never forget the mournful sound
made when you found
you had to leave ~
The softest howl,
almost under your breath
brought a lump to my throat
and a tear to my eye as
I turned around to retrace my steps
and found you had gone
until the morrow…
An invisible force,
an inaudible voice,
you had no choice
but you had to obey.

©Denise G Allen, 17 October 2013 05:54

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

8 thoughts on “My Friend II

  1. beautiful poem – it almost brought tears to my eyes. glad to connect with you poet.

    Like

  2. What a good poem depicting a tide of sorrow… should I say lovely.??

    Like

  3. You had to leave ~ I had to let you go
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  4. mmm i felt that howl just a bit…
    or i have…smiles…

    Like

  5. A very touching poem, adee. So sad.

    Like

  6. What or who was on your mind when you wrote it. It is sorrow in words

    Like

  7. This is how ‘my’ cat says goodbye in the mornings. He insists I follow him part of the way – no joke at 05:00! and I get a few of the smallest howls before he finally leaves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

