Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Shades

5 Comments

Shades - Trees

Shades – Trees

Edited

.

Shades

.

Shades of green with blue and gold
Block out more than half the sky ~
Magnificent trees, some young, some old,
With leaves that whisper in the breeze.

They sway, they bounce, they flounce,
Coquettish moods become apparent,
But then again they can be fierce
And whip themselves into a fury.

Sheltering birds take fright, take flight
Away from these bad tempered giants
Whose harbour was no longer offered,
Whose comfort was no longer proffered.

However, with the passing of the storm
I looked up at the leaves of varied hue,
At the sky of palest blue, and was
Surprised
To find
A passing bird spit in my eye!

.

Image and poetry: ©Denise G Allen, 05 November 2013 08:15

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

5 thoughts on “Shades

  1. ha. makes you not want to look up but then imagine what you might miss. the end made me laugh…ha at least it was only spit

    Like

  2. Damn! colonialist pinched my comment already. 🙂

    Like

  3. All was magnificent until…
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

Leave a Reply

