Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Sea Shore

7 Comments

Edited
.

Golden sands,
from powder-fine to
coarse as grits,
pebbles, stones and
bits of shell,
washed by the sea
back and forth, back and forth,
brushed by the wind
incessantly sweeping,
and burnt by the harsh
heat of a merciless sun.

The crocheted edging of the waves,
lacy white as a sudsy shower,
washes up on the sandy shore
dying slowly as it goes
until, exhausted, it can do no more,
sliding back from whence it came,
slipping backward down again ~
mesmerising movements,
hypnotising moments ~
with seagulls screaming overhead
and diving down to catch their food.

.

©Denise G Allen, 28 January 2014 07:12

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

7 thoughts on “Sea Shore

  1. A fine piece, Denise.

    Like

  2. I like it all except the last word, where I have a slight doubt?

    Like

  3. Beautiful writing, adee. I love “the crocheted edging of the waves.” 🙂

    Like

  4. I can almost hear the waves…

    Like

  5. ha. i love all the movement you create in this…it allows the scene to move across my eyes as i read….would love a trip to the beach…

    Like

  6. Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. I love writing about anything to do with the sea and beaches as I miss living at the coast. Col, I wrote myself into a corner and, if I can, I’ll edit the last line and reblog it.

    Like

  7. OK, I have edited the last 2 lines. I like it better and hope you do too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

