Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Time Used…

11 Comments

.

Time used to be

When we could sit

Quietly

And reflect on past history;

A lifestyle of gentle ebbs and flows.

How I miss those early years,

Those simple, unpretentious folks

With clean, naïve and artless jokes

When crime was crime, make no mistake

And sentences carried out to break

The notion that one could escape

The law.

.

©Denise G Allen, 12 March 2014 13:09

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

11 thoughts on “Time Used…

  1. Indeed. Those were good times. This is a wonderful poem, Denise. A favorite of yours of mine.

    Like

  2. I so agree with you, adee.

    Like

  3. We tread the track
    From womb to hearse
    Some things improve
    While some get worse

    Like

  4. ah i feel you…life seemed much simpler once upon a time…
    and i miss neighbors that just sit on the porch to visit…

    Like

    • When I was small I really wanted a porch with a swing bench when I grew up, Brian. I did have one for a while and it was lovely to sit out in the evenings.

      Like

  5. Otherwise known as “The Good Old Days”..

    Like

Leave a Reply

