Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Editing

18 Comments

.

There is Editing and ‘Editing’. I have always thought of myself as a good editor.

I was invited to write an article for a certain online magazine which I was very pleased and proud to do. This has backfired in that, although I took the greatest care with the finished product, I found on seeing the published version that ‘editing’ had taken place by the publishers, some of which was very carelessly done. Obviously the ‘editor’ didn’t read and check the changes for grammatical errors. I am a perfectionist and am ashamed that this poorly edited version of my article has appeared on the internet.

This explanation is for those of you who may have seen the opinion piece.

Denise G Allen

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

18 thoughts on “Editing

  1. I understand and sympathise 100%. Similar things have happened to me and I hate it!

    Like

  2. So annoying, Adee – I feel for you, particularly, as you say, the edits have done harm. I remember writing a letter to a mag once; they published it in an edited form which drastically changed its focus and meaning.

    Like

  3. ugh. that stinks…esp when it is their editors that make the mistakes….and it reflects poorly on you….

    Like

  4. Why not post the original, YOUR original here?

    Like

  5. I haven’t seen the piece, but I can imagine just how utterly frustrating that must be, Adee.

    Like

  6. Good grief…I would be so annoyed…shows the calibre of their staff!

    Like

  7. I know how you feel gran

    Like

  8. I just read your opinion piece. Despite some minor errors it is far better than most of the articles we produce at the three newspapers in my office (Northcliff Melville Times, Randburg Sun and Roodepoort Northsider).

    If you would like to, I suggest you write some letters for the Northcliff Melville Times. I am sure they will publish them, and being letters, without too much alteration.

    Like

    • Thanks for your suggestion Nic. If something arose about which I felt strongly I probably would do that. As you say, they are less likely to fiddle with a letter, lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

