Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

A Sleepless Night

4 Comments

.

A gutsy, gusty wind blows hard against my window pane,

Rattling the blinds, klonk, klonk, klonkity, klonk

And sleep stretches further and further away

Almost out of reach…

My mother was a worrier most of her life;

If it wasn’t ‘your father’, it was ‘you children’

But she did have peace after he had left,

Peace that ‘passeth all understanding’* which I,

Only now, fully comprehend.

The lamp shows it to be one thirty ay em

As I rise to close the outer door, Cat’s only escape route

From the prison of my home…

The wind has changed to sensuous sounds of the sea

Swelling, washing, back and forth, back and forth,

Calming, soothing and the Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Comes to mind as I drift away on the vast sea of eternity.

.

©Denise G Allen, 20 June 2014 01:05

* http://biblehub.com/philippians/4-7.htm

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

4 thoughts on “A Sleepless Night

  1. nice when you have those moments of peace in life…when all the noise and thrashing
    gets to that place of peace…beyond all understanding…

    Like

  2. Liking this. Quite different.

    Like

Leave a Reply

