Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Over My Shoulder

3 Comments

.

Looking over my shoulder

Into the past, all but forgotten

Through the merciless haze of time.

Scattered, dispersed like seeds in the wind,

Loved ones (and not so loved ones)

Gone forever, some into the ether,

Others into far-flung lands,

Leaving only memories, shadows

Lurking in yesterday’s infinity,

While the hands move on towards eternity.

.

©Denise G Allen, 22 June 2014 07:10

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

3 thoughts on “Over My Shoulder

  1. I was looking through some old family photos yesterday, and also reading a tribute to my late uncle who recently passed away in England. I found your poem very poignant indeed.

    Like

  2. Like the line memories and shadows, Denise.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  3. we are caught ever moving forward…moving further and further from what / who we were and who we once knew…

    Like

Leave a Reply

