Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Windy Day

9 Comments

.

Swirling, curling, the wind

Blew leaves from cracks

And crevices hidden from

Our eyes – surprise, surprise!

We who thought it cleanly swept

Since the last leaves had left

Tree branches bare, bereft

Of foliage, now find dried leaves,

Sun-fried to a crisp, strewn

Confetti-style across the lawn.

.

©Denise G Allen, 08 July 2014 12:03

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

9 thoughts on “Windy Day

  1. Your descriptions are so complete that I can picture each phrase in my mind. Well done.

    Like

  2. Now this sounds as though you stood and watched out a window in our house… beautifully described in poetic form… brilliant…

    Like

  3. Beautifully descriptive poem, adee. It really feels like winter here today, and it certainly is windy. 🙂

    Like

  4. sounds like late autumn to me…here it is so hot and dry everything is crunchy and crisp…i wont have to cut the grass this week…if i did it would scorch it….

    Like

  5. I can both see and hear. Nice work.

    Like

  6. Soooo true…
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  7. Our work of sweeping is never over.

    Like

  8. Lovey images in this delightful poem.

    Like

  9. I can’t wait for spring to arrive in all its splendour!! Great poem Adee

    Like

Leave a Reply

