Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Rain

2 Comments

Post No. 810

.

Rain

.

I kneel on the grass

with the rain on my face

rivulets run

trickle down

between my breasts

parched as the ground

the earth and i

bone dry under the sky

drops melt, meld into one

vanish into cracks

fissures in the rocks

my tears disappear

consumed by the air

and the pain…

washes away in the rain

.

©Denise G Allen, 01 June 2015 03:25

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

2 thoughts on “Rain

  1. I can’t help but think of Burt Lancaster in “The Rainmaker”.. Except for the “rivulets run trickle down between my breasts” part. lol

    Like

  2. SOmetimes, in the middle of the drought we make our own rain. Even it is a relief, because holding it in only prolongs the drought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

