Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Once

6 Comments

Post No. 861

.

Once

.

Once there was a time

A time no word would rhyme

A time when I died inside

Once there was a time

.

But it was true what they said

The cog locked, the wheel turned

The sun burned once more in the sky

Once there was a time

.

Words tripped and fell

My head was too full

As they tried and tried

To climb out of my skull

Once there was a time

.

©Denise G Allen, 22 August 2015 23:26

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

6 thoughts on “Once

  1. You know some days it is so easy and others well no matter how much I try …

    Like

    • True. And sometimes I let go of an idea only to return a week, a month, later. Or it morphs into something quite different from what I had in mind. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have gone totally dry myself, I don’t even think about writing anymore. It saddens me, because I loved it and yet I have lost interest. Before, almost anything could spark an idea, but now I don’t even try, and I can’t seem to get myself to pick up a pen. But I’m glad that you have returned to your former creative self Denise. Write on.

    Like

    • I am sorry to hear that Jake. I have missed seeing you around as often as before. Remember, if you don’t use your talent you will lose it so even writing occasionally is better than not at all. I have a few off-days here and there. In fact, sometimes more than a few. But am reading more and more now that I have a Kindle. Books that I should have read sooner. So that’s where a lot of my time disappears to as well. Keep well my friend. It is a bu***r to get old, but there’s no avoiding it unfortunately. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

