Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Why Fear

2 Comments

Post No. 869

.

Why Fear

.

She is my voice

Hers are my tears

Crying in the wilderness

Silent in my fears

.

Afraid to open the gates

Lest I should drown

Showing my nakedness

My helplessness I own

.

I am not ashamed

To declare you my God

My maker my creator

So tell me why

Oh why do I hide

My feelings deep inside

.

©Denise G Allen, 06 September 2015 09:34

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

2 thoughts on “Why Fear

  1. I know for men, we are conditioned from early on not to show weakness – so there is humility and ego involved,
    but with the way our world has become, I would say that probably crosses gender boundaries now as well.
    Showing weakness we will be taken advantage of. And sometimes even with God we will try to prove
    ourselves to him instead of trusting him to take care of us.

    Like

  2. You are right, x. I have caught myself trying to bargain with God, but stopped as soon as I realised what I was doing. I have been praying for a stronger faith. My problem is that I cannot bring myself to pray out loud, even with a small congregation, or even in a LifeGroup. I know it is for HIM and not for me. I feel so guilty and ‘ashamed’ of this. I can’t seem to be able to break this barrier, if it is important for me to do so. I know that God understands, but the people don’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

