Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Pain

2 Comments

Post No. 872

.

Pain

.

You have become

A second skin

Closer than a shadow

Nearer than kith or kin

An integral part of my heart

Seldom absent in the present

A constant companion

With degrees of contrast

More so now than in the past

To prise myself loose

I must find a distraction

Requiring my fullest attention

My complete focus

So you gently curl around me

In the quiet of the night

.

©Denise G Allen, 13 September 2015 09:40

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

2 thoughts on “Pain

  1. There are those pains that are always there,
    the chronic or persistent. When they stop, it is frightening
    because you become so used to them. One day relief
    will come.

    Like

    • Thanks, X. I have been having quite a hard time lately and am trying to wALK my way through. Twofold reasoning: 1) to increase my muscle tone and 2) I am going to the Kruger National Park in a week’s time. Something I have always wanted to do, but despite my being born and bred here have never been able to accomplish. I am so looking forward to the trip and seeing the animals! And I look at it as my reward for this setback. I will be around to visit and (maybe) write a few bits and bobs. My mind is all over the place though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

