Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Sunshine in the Valley

5 Comments

Post No. 876

.

Sunshine in the Valley

.

Let the sun shine in the valley

Chase the shadows far far away

It breaks my heart to see you suffer

It breaks my heart to see your pain

.

If i could turn the clocks around

And let the cogs themselves unwind

Return once more to yesteryear

Firmly anchored ‘gainst the wind

.

Father God there’s only You

Shielding us from desolation

Preserving us from devastation

With you on our side we must abide

.

©Denise G Allen, 21 September 2015 08:58

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

5 thoughts on “Sunshine in the Valley

  1. Every pain has a reason, and can be used to the glory of God.
    Its hard to see when we are in that moment and often we have to let
    the light in to those dark places in order to see it, to allow our
    eyes to see beyond our own suffering, but it can be.

    Like

    • I agree that there is always a reason. A lot of good has come of this. My family has grown much closer. A wonderful result of what has happened and is still happening. It has brought , and is still bringing, us closer to God in ways which I could never have imagined. But it is still one of the most painful episodes too! Thank you x for reminding me. Sometimes we are too wrapped up in the pain to view the positive side effects.

      Like

  2. It’s really hard to see a loved one suffer. Beautiful poem, adee. *hugs*

    Like

    • Thanks, Sylvia. Thought of you and your alligator while I was away. We saw stacks of crocs in the Sabie river and surrounding dams. I really don’t think I could have one at the bottom of my garden – ever! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

