Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Birds’ Nests

22 Comments

Façade of the Nairobi University

~

Birds’ Nests

~

Nests of breeding

For feathered birds

Seats of learning

For human nerds

Suffering agonies

Student bodies

Studying binaries

Or antiquities

Make their homes

In the cavities

 ~

Image: Mutua Matheka

©DGA 22 November 2011 06:41

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

22 thoughts on “Birds’ Nests

  1. well..that’s a very strange angle for a photo, but isn’t it amazing… I am not at all surprised that birds nest in there, they would be daft if they did not take advantage of ‘high rise’ accommodation..

    Good post Denise , and was I number 2

    Like

  2. Very good Adee…have a super day.

    Like

  3. it took a long time for me to figure out the picture…cool perspective…wicked flow to this adee…and you capture a simple reality and make it special. i like…

    Like

  4. Cool pic. Spot on poem. 😀

    Like

  5. Nice poem Denise, and I thought I had seen that picture before and then I saw Mutua’s name at the bottom. Thank you for sharing the gifts of the both of you.

    Like

  6. I just loved this one!

    Like

  7. I am a sucker for strange buildings, and I love this photo. Your poem fits it exactly, Denise.

    Like

  8. Birds and students make a nest
    As each resolve to do their best,

    A mission given before their birth
    Carried foreward while on earth.

    Like

  9. Great use of that unusual facade! Both on your part and on that of the birds.

    Something that struck me: it almost begs to be stretched a little further to bring in some reference to wasps’ nests and honeycombs?

    Like

    • One could go further as you suggest, Col., but I was concentrating on the birds laying their eggs in their nests, and the students giving birth to new ideas…

      Like

  10. Fantastic photo. It looks like something from a Sci Fi movie. I love it. Your poem fits it perfectly. Very clever and well done!

    Like

  11. Thank you so much, Selma. I have been so impressed with the photo since I first saw it. I just knew I had to use it as a subject.

    Like

Leave a Reply

