Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Journey through Hades

20 Comments

Journey through Hades

~~~

I thought we were two halves of a whole,

But how wrong could I be?

There was room for only one

And it wasn’t me.

I was trapped in a trip through Hades,

The prey on a spider’s web,

Watching dust motes

Floating on a sunbeam,

Envying them their freedom.

~~~

©DGA Friday, 12 August 2011 12:11

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

20 thoughts on “Journey through Hades

  1. Dust motes create an unhealthy environment for humans. I wish your sun beam would cook em all.

    Like

  2. finding freedom in the dust motes…providesa great contrast to the plight of the narrator…i like…

    Like

  3. Ouch, Denise. No one should be that much a captive to love. A gread discripton of freedom though.

    Like

  4. Often we hold the keys to the prison we’ve created . . .
    All we have to do is realize it.

    Love the image of the dust motes.

    Like

  5. Some feeling of horror at your poem, Denise.
    Reflects the expertise of your description
    John

    Like

  6. Gosh, that’s stifling! So glad this is only a memory!

    Like

  7. I love the regularity and rhyme of the first part, and for me this would go even better if it were echoed in the second – as three lines do. Then the next three break away.
    Great, nevertheless.

    Like

    • I know what you mean Col. I need to look at it, or even go through all my poems, with ‘fresh eyes’ and edit them where I can. Now that will be a project and a half, lol!

      Like

  8. Hey Denise,

    “Dust motes floating on a sunbeam”…
    Motes of dust floating are but our yearning and despair against the backdrop of Hope of sunbeam. Yes we yearn for our beloved to visit us … to share the emotion if not the pain. It’s a travel through Hades when you have to encounter it on your own. Your poetry is getting crystalline more and more. I enjoyed it.

    Like

    • Gee, thank you Sunamu, those are really lovely words of encouragement. And your interpretation of the motes and sunbeam is spot on too I think. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  9. The horiifying imagery works very well in this one, Adee

    Like

  10. I can feel how trapped you were. The images of the dust motes highlights how difficult it was to break free. There is a wrenching feeling there that is very powerful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

