Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

My Muse

14 Comments

.

Speak softly, gentle muse,

Whisper in my ear

So only I can hear ~

O would that you could!

Instead I have a baying hound

Snapping at my heels

Saying nought but ‘Write… write… write,

You silly twit.’

And what can I write

That I have not yet writ?

Where is your inspiration?

All I have is perspiration for my trouble

As I struggle…

.

©Denise G Allen, 08 June 2013 05:25

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

14 thoughts on “My Muse

  1. Your muse seems to be alive and well 🙂 Happy writing, adee…

    Like

  2. You produce such good poetry – in spite of the “snapping at your heels”, Denise. My contributions are far more laboured. I ignore the snapping and write only when I am moved by some happening or memory. Thus I post much less often!
    Thank you for your poetry, I love to find it here
    John

    Like

  3. haha…funny…and sometimes you just have to write to get to it….no matter how good it is…to sift through you know….

    Like

  4. It is oft the struggle that brings about the muse…
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  5. Do not wish away that hound!
    And its urges not refuse.
    For mine has left without a sound,
    and took with it my muse.
    To nevermore again be found?
    Or as I pray, just a lessoned ruse!

    Like

  6. Oh dear, Jake. What a dreadful thing… just what I was afraid of. 😦

    Like

  7. Missed this one – very a muse ing! 🙂

    Like

  8. Not to worry, I hope you were a mused! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

