Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Tender

18 Comments

Sidey’s Weekend Theme – 11.11.2011: Things aren’t always what they seem to be

.

Tender

.

tell me what is the cost

when there is little that money can’t buy

and the value on the face of it

is higher than it’s worth

while meat can be pliable or tough

when you read a book is it enough

just to look at the cover

with never a glance inside

is a face that is kind

always a sign of benevolence

and tell me is al-truism the truth

while elvis sings of love

from other side the grave

and the moon is so bright

that the night is almost as light as day

.
©DGA 12 November 2011 06:09

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people! I am back after a break. Thanks for still being here, if you are! Missed you! xxx

18 thoughts on “Tender

  1. Lovely poem 🙂 I really like your flag thing. That’d be great. I downloaded one but it came up as a ‘post’ and then moved on down the page in time. I just don’t know how you keep it there permanently?

    Like

  2. nice…i really like this adee…it dances like a riddle a bit…no there is much beyond the cover of a book….

    Like

  3. Adee, these are deep questions and they’re making me think deep thoughts… and I just now scrolled up and noticed this is a response to Sidey’s weekend theme, lol. This is an awesome response to that challenge, in my view, one of the best. Well done!

    Like

  4. Lots to think about here, Denise. Thanks!

    Like

  5. a great one, latyers and interesting, thanks adee

    Like

  6. Does a face that’s lined and weathered,
    mean a heart, that’s made of leather?
    And from the outside cover, do not judge.
    For the pages turned inside,
    reveal the jist, that will not hide,
    merely await, the slightest nudge.

    As you can tell Denise a very thought provoking post. thanks.

    Like

  7. Great response to Sidey’s theme, Denise. Much to think about, and lots of levels of meaning. Thank you.
    John

    Like

  8. I’m glad you liked it, John. Thanks. 🙂

    Like

  9. A very clever and enjoyable poem, Adee

    Like

    • Thanks, Bb. At first I was quite pleased with it, but now I’m not happy and one day I think I’ll try a complete re-write. I say that but I know I probably won’t, lol!

      Like

  10. I am not convinced we will ever know the answers, but spending time searching for them is all that is really required. . .

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.