Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Nightmare

16 Comments

Nightmare

The moon was covered by a cloud,
Darkness deepened all around.
I ran and ran as fast as I could
Across the grass and into the wood.

The ground became as soft as mud,
My feet were sucked down very hard,
My legs were weary beyond belief
Yet still I persisted, to find relief.

Branches were like gooey rope
Sticking fast to all they touched.
A hairy arm reached out to me –
I screamed out as it brushed my cheek.

Shedding my clothes to escape being caught,
Sensing danger at every turn,
I opened my eyes to confront my foe
And the light switched on above my head.

Photo: http://www.prestwoodpetzone.com/Reptile_pics/goliath%20spider%20pic.jpg

©DGA

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

16 thoughts on “Nightmare

  1. i dont mind them usually but if it woke up with them crawling all over me…oh my…

    Like

  2. Nooooooooooooooo!

    I’ve just had to pick up my chair from off the floor, wipe up coffee from my desk, and my heart is still racing!

    Bad, bad Adee!

    Like

  3. PS: Excellent poem though 🙂

    Like

  4. OK…I am changing channels NOW!!!!!
    I will probably dream about the thing tonight.
    Thanks friend.

    Like

  5. Spaaaaaaiders!!!!!….scary things……..eeeeek!……..splat!!

    Like

  6. vivid,
    well done,
    I have them on some rare occasions.
    🙂

    Like

  7. Very creepy! Love the poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

