Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Meditating in the Moonlight

28 Comments

.

It had been a dreek day

Cheerless and dreary

My mind was languid

My body was weary

.

I raised my face to the moon

Closed my burning eyes

Let her healing light

Gently restore my sight

.

I allowed my tired soul

Entry into eternity

For minutes or hours

It was the same to me

.

Β©DGA 05 December 2011 06:25

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

28 thoughts on “Meditating in the Moonlight

  1. Wonderfully rejuvenating, Denise.

    Like

  2. No balm compares to the feathery touch of the moonlight on the aching body and mind alike. I agree with you Denise.

    Like

  3. Such a feeling of relief, Denise. I have definitely been there at one time or another – especially when I was at work! I like the word “dreek”

    John

    Like

  4. Eyes closed, face to the moonlight, bathed in comfort … aaah.

    Like

  5. we need those moments where we stop and are still and just breath and be…nice visuals too leading us into serentiy…

    Like

  6. Sometimes our tired spirit needs a boost. Thank you Denise.

    Like

  7. Isn’t it funny, how we can lose ourselves, within ourselves and still get home without a map or a gps system. lol

    Like

  8. Wonderful ZEN moment . . . in the NOW, we refill our coffers drained dry by dreek and dreary days. πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. πŸ™‚ … you know I know too …:)

    Silence within = peace without.

    Like

  10. I hoped you’d know… πŸ™‚

    So nice to escape the world’s continual clamour…

    Like

  11. A healing poem πŸ™‚ Love ‘dreek day’

    Like

    • Yes, Gabe, I hoped it would be. I found the word ‘dreek’ in Kates post a few days back and I simple loved it too! See, I have my snow now, haha. Thanks.

      Like

  12. Ah, dreek. Love that word.

    Like

  13. This poem is like a deep, calming breath πŸ™‚ Am off to look up ‘dreek’ πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. I really like this bit –

    I allowed my tired soul

    Entry into eternity

    That is just gorgeous. There is definitely something restorative about the moon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

