Adeeyoyo's Blog

I write what I feel…

Being Observant

20 Comments

.

Tick, tick, tick as the gas heats the burner

and the water begins to murmur

tick, tick, cheeeeeeee—– softly

pligh, pligh, pligh, bubbles rise and pop

getting bigger, rising higher,

click, clack, click, clack, clickclack, clickclackclickclack

boiling faster and faster, bumping, knocking

time is six oh three

clickclackclickclackclickclackclickclack

they’ll be ready by six oh nine for the soft centre

and six twenty for the hard boiled

snifffffff aaah

the rich smell of coffee fills the air

grab a plate and some toast

breakfast is ready…

~~~~~~~~~

~~~~ Oh, gee, I was so busy watching, listening,
learning, writing, I burnt the bread!

.

©Denise G Allen, 17 May 2013 06:36

There is creative reading as well as creative writing.
— Ralph Waldo Emerson

Author: adeeyoyo

I am a middle-aged South African woman, living in Johannesburg. I began writing poetry towards the end of May 2010. I love animals – sometimes more than people!

20 thoughts on “Being Observant

  1. “Onomatopoeic” now that is a word I will have to go and look up.. but if I may say I felt I was in the kitchen with you and breakfast was on the way… I love it..

    Like

  2. I could almost smell that breakfast…delicious!

    Like

  3. Your words bring me to reality Denise, too funny. blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  4. Reading your description of the sounds and aroma evokes them so well that I see, hear and smell them and start salivating – you have evolved multiple sensory stimulation!

    Like

  5. Beautifully done, Denise. I can see everything.
    By the way, you are in good company. King Alfred burnt the cakes, being so concerned with a war!
    John

    Like

  6. Very, very funny. I loved the originality and playfulness!

    Like

  7. mmm i love coffee…..and your use of sound in this as well…ha…i was def right there….fun piece adee….

    Like

Leave a Reply

